« Like a dancer’s dream »

Founded in the 17th century, the Paris Opera corps de ballet, the oldest academic dance company in the world, has always continued to develop its art. Since 1713 and the creation of the Opera Dance School, the steps, techniques and inspirations have never ceased to change, while maintaining the greatest respect for tradition.

Likewise, on a number of occasions the master shoemaker Merlet has revolutionized the construction of pointe shoes, by adopting the stitch-and-return method, for example, which gives the shoes unparalleled suppleness and comfort. As the licensed supplier of dance shoes to the Paris Opera, Merlet works closely with male and female dancers to improve the comfort, lightness and elegance of dance shoes, fulfilling the exacting needs of leading stars, and now does the same for you too, in your daily life.

A very special partnership

The Paris Opera has chosen the artisan shoemaker Merlet to create its prestigious collection of city shoes: “Like a dancer’s dream”. At Verneuil-sur-Vienne near Limoges, where the Merlet dance shoes are crafted, a new workshop has been created specially to produce this collection dedicated to all women inspired by dance. It is here that each shoe is conceived, designed and stitched by hand, to achieve perfection through innovation. The traditions of dance are interpreted in beautiful, comfortable shoes that can be worn from morning to night.

The very highest values

Benjamin Beytout, Deputy Sales and Development Director at the Paris Opera, says this about the development of the Paris Opera brand and its first shoe license agreement with Merlet:

We are developing our brand while keeping a close control over the quality of products produced under our license. We work with companies that have real expertise and share our values of excellence. The French company Merlet, a specialist in pointe shoes, corresponds perfectly to the type of partner we want to work with. We are delighted to be launching our first collection of shoes with them; naturally these shoes are high-end and offer female customers a ‘ballerina’ experience every day.

YOUR PURCHASES HELP FINANCE THE ACTIVITIES OF THE PARIS OPERA

« Comme un rêve de danseuse »

Créé au XVIIème siècle, le corps de Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris, la plus ancienne compagnie de danse académique au monde, a toujours su faire évoluer son art. Depuis 1713 et la création de l’école de danse de l’Opéra, les pas, les techniques, les inspirations se renouvellent sans cesse dans le plus grand respect de la tradition.

De même, le maître chausseur Merlet a révolutionné plusieurs fois l’architecture des pointes, en inventant par exemple le cousu retourné, qui leur a apporté une souplesse et un confort inédits. Licenciée chaussure de l’Opéra national de Paris, la maison Merlet travaille au plus près des danseuses et des danseurs, améliorant le confort, la légèreté et l’élégance des chaussures de danse pour le plus grand bonheur des étoiles, et désormais pour le vôtre au quotidien.

Un partenariat d’exception

En effet, l’Opéra national de Paris a choisi la maison Merlet pour réaliser sa prestigieuse collection de souliers de ville « Comme un rêve de danseuse ». À Verneuil sur Vienne, lieu de production des chaussures de danse Merlet, un nouvel atelier a été monté spécialement pour cette collection dédiée à toutes les femmes que la danse fait rêver. Chaque soulier y est imaginé, conçu et cousu main dans un souci de perfection et d’innovation. Les codes de la danse sont transposés dans de véritables souliers à porter du matin au soir.

Des valeurs d’excellence

Benjamin Beytout, Adjoint à la Direction commerciale et du Développement de l’Opéra national de Paris, déclare à propos du développement de la marque l’Opéra national de Paris et de sa première licence de chaussure avec Merlet :

Nous développons notre marque en veillant à la qualité des produits issus de nos projets de licence. Nous allons vers des sociétés disposant d’un véritable savoir-faire et qui partagent nos valeurs d’excellence. La société française Merlet, spécialiste des pointes, correspond parfaitement au type de partenaire avec lequel nous souhaitons nous associer. Nous sommes fiers d’avoir lancé avec eux notre première collection de chaussures naturellement haut de gamme, offrant aux clientes l’expérience d’une « danseuse » au quotidien.

VOS ACHATS CONTRIBUENT AU FINANCEMENT DES ACTIVITÉS
DE L’OPÉRA NATIONAL DE PARIS